Conway Public Schools Teachers of the Year

  • Teach spelled with dice CPSD has the most amazing teachers in the state of Arkansas.

    Each year, we honor one teacher from each school who exemplifies the "best of" the teaching profession in our district. After being selected by their school, each nominee is eligible to apply for the Conway District Teacher of the Year. This application process mirrors that for the state Teacher of the Year, and is selected by an independent panel of judges. The Conway Schools District Teacher of the Year is announced at the end of each school year.

    The district Teacher of the Year then goes on to apply for the state title. Our representative has been chosen as a regional finalist three of the last four years! Additionally, in 2017, Randi House was named a semi-finalist and went on to become the 2018 Arkansas State Teacher of the Year. Melissa Spence was also named a semi-finalist in 2019.

    The teachers of the year are recognized here in our district in several different ways. They are part of our annual Back to School assembly in August. Their names are added to a plaque displayed in each school lobby, listing all past winners. They are honored before our school board at the September meeting, where they are presented with an apple trophy to display on their desks. The local Lions Club also celebrates them in the Spring with a luncheon for the teachers and their guests. 

Meet the Teachers of the Year

  • Anna Holstead, Sallie Cone Preschool

  • Ellen Smith, Ida Burns Elementary

  • Leah Mercer, Woodrow Cummins Elementary

  • Andrea Fournier, Theodore Jones Elementary

  • Leah Kotch, Carolyn Lewis Elementary

  • Brandon Sorrells, Preston & Florence Mattison

  • Danielle Creswell, Julia Lee Moore Elementary

  • Susan Henderson, Ellen Smith Elementary

  • Laurel Breashears, Jim Stone Elementary

  • Bart Dooley, Marguerite Vann Elementary

  • Beth Lasley, Bob & Betty Courtway Middle School

  • Erika Easley, Ruth Doyle Middle School

  • Ginger Campbell, Simon Middle School

  • Crystal Rehm, Carl Stuart Middle School

  • Tyler Hanson, Conway Junior High School

  • Melissa Smith, Conway High School